Sufferings of cyclic existence

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Part of a series of teachings on Essence of Refined Gold by the Third Dalai Lama, Gyalwa Sonam Gyatso. The text is a commentary on Songs of Experience by Lama Tsongkhapa.

The dukkha of samsara

  • The eight sufferings and the three types of dukkha
  • A realistic look at the defects of cyclic existence
  • Explanation of renunciation and the determination to be free
  • Is and is not

Essence of Refined Gold 29: The first noble truth (download)

Questions and answers

  • How can we prevent the deterioration of the mind in old age?
  • Why is being born in the form or formless realms considered an upper rebirth?
  • Discussion of creating virtue and non-virtue
  • How do the pure lands relate to the form and formless realms?

Essence of Refined Gold 29: Q&A (download)

Find more on these topics: , ,