Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Non-harmfulness and equanimity

Group of 11 virtuous mental factors

Part of a series of teachings given through the Dharma Friendship Foundation in Seattle from January 1995 to April 1996.

  • Meditation on five types of conscientiousness
  • Mental factor non-harmfulness (compassion)—stopping the intention to harm others
  • Three kinds of compassion—observing sentient beings, impermanence, object-less
  • Mental factor of equanimity
  • Equanimity that comes while one is going through the nine stages to developing samatha (calm abiding)
  • Conclusion of the 11 virtuous mental factors

Mind and mental factors 14: (download)

Venerable Thubten Chodron

Venerable Chodron emphasizes the practical application of Buddha’s teachings in our daily lives and is especially skilled at explaining them in ways easily understood and practiced by Westerners. She is well known for her warm, humorous, and lucid teachings. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in 1977 by Kyabje Ling Rinpoche in Dharamsala, India, and in 1986 she received bhikshuni (full) ordination in Taiwan. Read her full bio.

More on this topic