Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Fortitude of enduring suffering

Fortitude of enduring suffering

Part of a series of teachings on Essence of Refined Gold by the Third Dalai Lama, Gyalwa Sonam Gyatso. The text is a commentary on Songs of Experience by Lama Tsongkhapa.

Explanation of far-reaching practice of patience

  • Three types of patience:
    • The patience of not retaliating
    • The patience of enduring suffering
    • The patience of studying the Dharma
  • How it takes more courage to forgive and give up anger than it does to give in to anger
  • Enduring suffering without becoming a victim
  • Taking action with a peaceful and kind mind

Essence of Refined Gold 43 (download)

Questions and answers

  • Positive karma, anger, negative karma, purification
  • Having a happy mind and working with anger
  • Working with irritation and rumination when things happen that we don’t like

Essence of Refined Gold 43: Q&A (download)

Venerable Thubten Chodron

Venerable Chodron emphasizes the practical application of Buddha’s teachings in our daily lives and is especially skilled at explaining them in ways easily understood and practiced by Westerners. She is well known for her warm, humorous, and lucid teachings. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in 1977 by Kyabje Ling Rinpoche in Dharamsala, India, and in 1986 she received bhikshuni (full) ordination in Taiwan. Read her full bio.