Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Quiz 1: Four establishments of mindfulness

Thangka image of Shakyamuni Buddha.
Photo by

Part of a series of teachings on A Presentation of the Establishment of Mindfulness by Gyalwa Chokyi Gyaltsen.

  1. Why are the body, feelings, mind, and phenomena selected as objects to establish mindfulness on? What do these four establishments of mindfulness prevent childish sentient beings from grasping? How does preventing that lead to liberation?

  2. How does the way hearers and solitary realizers meditate on the four establishments of mindfulness differ from the way bodhisattvas meditate on them?

  3. What is the correspondence between the four establishments of mindfulness, the four distortions, and the four noble truths?

  4. Name three meditations that are included in mindfulness on the body.

  5. Describe the three meditations on a skeleton, i.e., describe the steps involved in these meditations.

  6. Why are the meditations on the foulness of the body done? What is a healthy relationship to have with our body?

  7. How do the three feelings relate to the three types of dukkha?

  8. Describe some of the ways to meditate on mindfulness of the feelings.

  9. What are the three types of craving and how do they relate to the three types of feeling? Make an example of each type of craving in your life?

  10. What is the purpose of meditating on mindfulness of feelings?

Venerable Thubten Chodron

Venerable Chodron emphasizes the practical application of Buddha’s teachings in our daily lives and is especially skilled at explaining them in ways easily understood and practiced by Westerners. She is well known for her warm, humorous, and lucid teachings. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in 1977 by Kyabje Ling Rinpoche in Dharamsala, India, and in 1986 she received bhikshuni (full) ordination in Taiwan. Read her full bio.

More on this topic