Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Chapter 2: Monastic stages of refuge

09 Course 1: Buddhism: One Teacher, Many Traditions

Part of a series of two-week courses given at Sravasti Abbey based on the book Buddhism: One Teacher, Many Traditions by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Venerable Thubten Chodron.

  • Questions and answers from previous talk
  • The three higher knowledges (Pali tradition)
  • Stages of refuge
  • Precepts and guidelines
  • Dharma protectors and spirits
  • The 16 attributes of the four truths of the aryas in Pali and Sanskrit
  • True dukkha: four attributes
  • Impermanence

Venerable Thubten Chodron

Venerable Chodron emphasizes the practical application of Buddha’s teachings in our daily lives and is especially skilled at explaining them in ways easily understood and practiced by Westerners. She is well known for her warm, humorous, and lucid teachings. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in 1977 by Kyabje Ling Rinpoche in Dharamsala, India, and in 1986 she received bhikshuni (full) ordination in Taiwan. Read her full bio.

More on this topic