Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The ten powers of the Tathagata

The ten powers of the Tathagata

Part of a series of online talks hosted by Vajrayana Institute in Sydney, Australia.

  • Addressing doubts that may arise when hearing about the qualities of the Buddha
  • The benefit of meditating on the qualities of the Buddha
  • The ten powers of the Tathagata:
        1. Knowing what is possible and what is not possible
        2. Understands karma fully and completely
        3. Knowing all possible types of rebirth and their causes
        4. Understands all the elements of existence
        5. Understands the interests of each being in order to teach them effectively
        6. Able to teach beings according to the disposition of their faculties
        7. Understands all meditative states and how to attain them
        8. Knows all the details of his past lives
        9. The divine eye which sees beings’ rebirths according to their karma
        10. The elimination of all obscurations and enlightenment

Venerable Thubten Chodron

Venerable Chodron emphasizes the practical application of Buddha’s teachings in our daily lives and is especially skilled at explaining them in ways easily understood and practiced by Westerners. She is well known for her warm, humorous, and lucid teachings. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in 1977 by Kyabje Ling Rinpoche in Dharamsala, India, and in 1986 she received bhikshuni (full) ordination in Taiwan. Read her full bio.

More on this topic