Stages of the Path (lamrim) 1991-1994

  • A A A
  • In the early eleventh century the Indian Buddhist master Atisha condensed essential points from the sutras and ordered them into the text Lamp of the Path. These were then expanded upon in the fourteenth century by the Tibetan Buddhist master Lama Tsongkhapa into the text The Great Exposition on the Gradual Path to Enlightenment (Lamrim Chenmo). Venerable Thubten Chodron taught on this text over several years at Dharma Friendship Foundation, and related these practical teachings to our daily lives.

    These teachings can be found in the Lamrim Teachings 1991-1994 (LR) sub-category and in the Gradual Path to Enlightenment (Lamrim) Teachings (1991-1994) series. The list below is a searchable and easy-to-navigate index of the teachings in the series.

    The transcripts of these teachings have been lightly edited, organized, and formatted into ebook formats, and can be found on the books for free distribution page.

    Lamrim outlines

    Introduction to the lamrim

    The six preparatory practices

    Relying on a spiritual mentor

    Precious human life

    The path in common with the initial level practitioner

    Impermanence and death

    Taking refuge

    Developing conviction in karma and its effects

    The path in common with the intermediate level practitioner

    Contemplating the four noble truths

    The path of the advanced level practitioner

    The seed of enlightenment (bodhicitta)

    The bodhisattva ethical restraints

    The six far-reaching practices

    The eightfold noble path

    Find more on these topics: