طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

راهبة في المنفى: من التبت إلى الهند

من أزهار الدارما: العيش كراهبة بوذية ، نُشر في عام 1999. هذا الكتاب ، الذي لم يعد مطبوعًا ، جمع بعض العروض التقديمية التي قُدمت في عام 1996 الحياة كراهبة بوذية مؤتمر في بودجايا ، الهند.

صورة لسامانيريكا توبتين لاتسو.

سرامانيريكا توبتين لاتسو

ولدت في قرية خام في الجزء الشرقي من التبت ، قبل سنوات عديدة من الاحتلال الصيني لبلدنا. كانت التضاريس جميلة ، لكن السفر كان صعبًا. كان معظم الناس من الفلاحين الذين يعملون في الأرض ، لذلك كنا نميل إلى البقاء بالقرب من مسقط رأسنا. لم يكن هناك دير للراهبات بالقرب من قريتي في خام ، لذلك أنا ، مثل بعض الراهبات الأخريات ، لم أجرب العيش في مجتمع الراهبات أثناء وجودي في التبت. ومع ذلك ، أود أن أشارككم تجربتي كراهبة في التبت والآن كلاجئة في الهند.

أصبحت راهبة عندما كنت في الثانية عشرة من عمري. في "التبت القديمة" ، أرادت العديد من العائلات أن يكون طفل واحد على الأقل من أطفالها رهباني لأنه كان يعتبر جديرًا بالتقدير للعائلة. لذلك ، بما أن عائلتي لديها ابنتان ، فقد قال والداي أن إحدانا يجب أن تصبح راهبة. نظرًا لأنني لم أكن بارعًا في القيام بالعمل في المنزل أو في الحقول أو مع الحيوانات ، فقد كنت أنا من يرسم. على الرغم من أنني أصبحت راهبة في سن مبكرة ، إلا أنني لم أستطع تلقي العديد من التعاليم على أنها لا اما أو دير موجود في مكان قريب. علمني والدي القراءة والكتابة باللغة التبتية ، وبقيت في منزل عائلتي حتى بلغت الحادية والعشرين. الراهبات التبتيات ، حتى الراهبات في الراهبات ، لم يقمن بدراسات أو مناظرات فلسفية في ذلك الوقت ، لكنهن شاركن في الغالب في الطقوس والطقوس. التأمُّل ممارسات لتنقية العقل وخلق إمكانات إيجابية. وهكذا ، خلال تلك السنوات ، قمت بالعديد من Nyung Ne ، وهو منتجع الصيام لمدة يومين في Chenresig ، البوذا وكذلك رددوا مائة ألف تسبيحة لتارا.

عندما كنت في الحادية والعشرين من عمري ، توفيت والدتي. أ اما الذين يعيشون في الجبال المجاورة جاؤوا إلى منزلنا في ذلك الوقت لأداء الصلاة من أجل والدتي والقرويين الآخرين. كما أعطى تعاليم للعلمانيين والراهبات السبع في المنطقة. لقد أوعانا للقيام بالعديد من ممارسات نيونغ ني ، وهو ما فعلناه ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع مائة ألف تلاوة من تلاوة تشينريسيج. تعويذة. كما أكملنا مائة ألف تلاوة من تسبيح اللاما تسونغ خابا مع يوجا المعلم. ثم ذهب خمسة من الراهبات منا إلى اما وبقينا في خلوة حيث تلانا مائة ألف ملجأ تعويذة وقام بالعديد من التلاوات والممارسات الأخرى. ساعدتنا هذه الممارسات على تنقية أفعالنا السلبية ، وتعميق ثقتنا في الجواهر الثلاثوتنمي المحبة والرحمة. في الثانية والعشرين من عمري ، تلقيت سرامانيريكا أنذر. كما تلقيت Vajrayogini استهلال وكانوا يمارسون هذه الممارسة بشكل يومي ، لكنهم لم يتمكنوا من التراجع بسبب الاضطرابات التي سببها الاحتلال الشيوعي لبلدي.

في عام 1958 ، غادرت أنا وأبي ومعلمي إلى لاسا ، معتقدين أن الوضع قد يكون أفضل هناك. ومع ذلك ، احتل الصينيون الشيوعيون لاسا أيضًا ، وكان الجو هناك متوترًا للغاية. لحسن الحظ ، كان لدي لقاء مع قداسة البابا الدالاي لاما هناك ، مما منحني الكثير من القوة والثقة ، الصفات التي من شأنها أن تجعلني جيدًا فيما سيأتي. بحلول ربيع عام 1959 ، سيطر الصينيون على جميع أنحاء لاسا ، وكنا نخشى أن تكون طريقتنا القديمة في الحياة ومؤسساتنا الدينية في خطر. بقي معلمي في دير دريبونغ خارج لاسا ، بينما بقينا في المدينة نفسها. عندما اندلع القتال بين التبتيين والصينيين في مارس 1959 ، أردنا أنا وأبي الفرار في تلك الليلة بالذات. على الرغم من أننا لم نتمكن من المغادرة في ذلك الوقت ، إلا أن أستاذي هرب. في صباح اليوم التالي ، أخبرني والدي أنه يجب علينا المغادرة في تلك الليلة وأمرني بإحضار أغراضنا التي كانت في منزل أحد الأصدقاء. أثناء ذهابي ، أسر الصينيون والدي. في طريق عودتي ، رأيت والدي يقف على الطريق مع الشرطة الصينية. أردت أن أذهب إليه وأحتجزه حتى لا يتمكنوا من اصطحابه ، لكنني لم أجرؤ لأن الصينيين ربما قتلوا كلانا. راقبتُ بلا حول ولا قوة وهم يقتادونه بعيدًا إلى وجهة مجهولة بالنسبة لي.

كان العثور على والدي أمرًا صعبًا لأن لهجة خام التي تحدثت عنها كانت مختلفة عن اللهجة المستخدمة في لاسا ، لذلك لم أتمكن من التواصل بسهولة مع الناس. لكن بعد شهرين نجحت في تحديد مكانه في أحد السجون. أخيرًا ، عندما جاء بعض الغربيين - أعتقد أنهم أمريكيون - لزيارة التبت ، أطلق الصينيون سراح بعض السجناء القدامى ، ومن بينهم والدي. في ذلك الوقت كنت أعيش في لاسا وأقوم بممارستي الدينية. ومع ذلك ، اعتبر الشيوعيون الصينيون أن الممارسات الدينية عديمة الفائدة والناس المتدينون هم طفيليات على المجتمع ، لذلك أمروني بالعمل. بدأنا أنا وأبي العمل كعمال يدويين. نظرًا لأنه اضطر إلى حمل التربة ، كانت ساقيه منتفخة تمامًا في بعض الأحيان بسبب الإجهاد. بعد أن استنفدنا من العمل طوال اليوم ، اضطررنا لحضور الاجتماعات السياسية التي ينظمها الشيوعيون الصينيون كل مساء. خلال تلك الفترة ، عانيت أنا والعديد من الآخرين كثيرًا. ومع ذلك ، فقد اعتبرنا أن هذا يرجع إلى ما سبق الكارما. البوذا قال ، "السعادة تنبع من أفعالنا الإيجابية السابقة ، والمعاناة من أفعالنا السلبية ،" لذلك حاولنا ألا نغضب من أولئك الذين يضطهدوننا. على كل حال، الغضب غير مجدية في مثل هذه المواقف: فهي تضيف المزيد من الاضطراب العاطفي إلى المعاناة الجسدية التي يمر بها المرء بالفعل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، عندما نكون غاضبين ، فإننا لا نفكر بوضوح ، وغالبًا ما نتخذ قرارات خاطئة أو نتصرف بصراحة ، مما يؤدي إلى المزيد من المعاناة لأنفسنا وللآخرين.

في عام 1972 ، توفي والدي. كنا نعمل وننتظر في لاسا ، على أمل أن ينتهي الاحتلال الصيني قريبًا وأن تستعيد التبت استقلالها. هذا لم يحدث. لكن في أوائل الثمانينيات ، خففت القيود قليلاً ، وسمح الصينيون لبعض التبتيين بالذهاب إلى الهند. كنت أرغب في الذهاب إلى الهند ، ولكن للقيام بذلك ، كنت بحاجة إلى رسالة من أحد التبتيين هناك يقول فيها أننا أقارب ويطلبون مني القدوم للزيارة. لقد أرسلت رسالة إلى أحد أساتذتي في دير غاندين في جنوب الهند ، وأرسل لي خطاب دعوة ، أخذته إلى المكتب الصيني في لاسا للحصول على الأوراق اللازمة للسفر إلى الهند. أخبرت الضباط الصينيين أنه قريب لي ، وليس أستاذي ، وطلبت الذهاب إلى الهند لمدة ثلاثة أشهر فقط لرؤيته. عندما جاء الإذن بالذهاب أخيرًا ، تركت كل متعلقاتي في التبت ، كما لو كنت أخطط للعودة. لو لم أفعل ذلك ، لشتبهوا في أنني لا أنوي العودة ومنعي من المغادرة.

وهكذا أصبحت لاجئًا. مكثت لمدة شهر في نيبال ثم ذهبت إلى بودجايا بالهند ، حيث تلقيت تعاليم عن ممارسات البوديساتفاس. ثم ذهبت إلى دير دريبونغ ، الذي أعاد التبتيون في المنفى تشييده في جنوب الهند ، لرؤية معلمي. بعد زيارته في دريبونغ ، ذهبت إلى دارامسالا حيث تلقيت تعاليم على النصوص الثمانية من لامريم، الطريق التدريجي إلى التنوير. لقد كان من حسن حظي أيضًا تلقي بعض التعاليم والتعاليم حول ممارسة البوديساتفا في فاراناسي ، الكلاتشاكرا استهلال في Bodhgaya ، وتعاليم على المعلم محاولة فضلا عن مختلف المبادرات في دارامسالا. نظرًا لأنني لم أتمكن من تلقي العديد من التعاليم كراهبة شابة واضطررت إلى القيام بأعمال يدوية شاقة في ظل الصينيين لسنوات عديدة ، فقد أسعدني أن أتيحت لي الفرصة أخيرًا لمعرفة المزيد عن الدارما التي كنت أعتز بها كثيرًا.

إنشاء دير جانجشوب تشولينج

عندما ذهبت لرؤية معلمي لأول مرة في موندجود ، جنوب الهند ، لم يكن هناك دير للراهبات. لاحقًا ، بينما كان يتم بناء دير جانجشوب تشولينج للراهبات ، أخبرتني جمعية نساء التبت أني مرحب بي للانضمام إلى الدير ، لكنني رفضت في ذلك الوقت. في يناير 1987 ، دعاني ممثل من مكتب الرعاية التبتية لحضور حفل افتتاح الدير على الرغم من أنني لم أكن أنوي الانضمام إليه. حضرة صاحب القداسة الدالاي لاما كان حاضرًا ، واعتقدت أنه سيكون من الجيد تلقي مباركته ، لذلك ذهبت إلى Mundgod للمساعدة في الاستعدادات قبل وصوله. نظرًا لأن الدير كان قد اكتمل للتو ، فقد كان متربًا جدًا ويتطلب الكثير من التنظيف والديكور لجعله لطيفًا قبل حفل الافتتاح. طُلب من جميع الراهبات في المنطقة - ما يقرب من عشرين منا - الحضور لزيارة حضرته ، والتي كنا سعداء جدًا للقيام بها. كانت بعض الراهبات متقدمات في السن ، يأتين من منزل المسنين المجاور للدير. كان آخرون صغارًا جدًا ، في سن المراهقة.

بينما كان قداسته في الدير ، سأل إذا كان أي شخص من التبت. عندما أجبته بالإيجاب ، قال: "يوجد العديد من الأديرة للرهبان في الهند ، لكن القليل جدًا من الأديرة. أود افتتاح معابد للراهبات في جميع المستوطنات التبتية الكبيرة في الهند. كلما قابلت شخصًا يمكنه المساعدة في ذلك ، خاصةً من جمعية نساء التبت ، أطلب منه مساعدة الراهبات. يسألني الكثير من الغربيين عن سبب وجود هذا العدد الكبير من الأديرة للرهبان وبالكاد توجد أي أديرة للراهبات. الآن تم افتتاح Jangchub Choling Nunnery وأنا سعيد جدًا. الرجاء تعلم دارما جيدا. نظرًا لأن الدير يقع بالقرب من أديرة غاندين ودريبونغ ، فلن تواجه الكثير من المشاكل في العثور على معلمين. يجب أن تدرس بجد وتصبح راهبات خبيرات في المستقبل ". بعد أن قال قداسته هذا ، لم أستطع ترك الراهبات في Mundgod. بصفتي راهبة كبيرة ، شعرت بالمسؤولية عن تفعيل رغبات قداسته والاهتمام بتنمية الراهبات الصغيرات. منذ أن شدد على أنه يجب علينا أن ندرس بجد وأن نجعل الدير ناجحًا ، قررت البقاء والانضمام إلى الدير والقيام بكل ما بوسعي لمساعدة الراهبات. تم الانتهاء من عدد قليل فقط من أماكن المعيشة للراهبات ، وكانت هناك حاجة ماسة إلى المزيد من البناء. لم يكن لدينا ماء أو كهرباء ، لذا كان الصرف الصحي سيئًا. بسبب نقص المساكن في الدير ، بقيت الراهبات الأكبر سناً في منزل المسنين ، حيث لم يكن في غرفهم أبواب أو نوافذ أو أسرّة مناسبة. الراهبات الصغيرات اللواتي تعيش عائلاتهن في الجوار كن ينمن في منزل العائلة. لما يقرب من أحد عشر شهرًا ، بقيت وحدي في الدير ليلا بينما تعيش الراهبات الأخريات في مكان آخر.

في ربيع عام 1987 ، عُقد أول اجتماع دولي للنساء البوذيات في بودجايا. على الرغم من أنني لم أحضر ، علمت أن ذلك كان ناجحًا للغاية وأدى إلى إنشاء Sakyadhita ، المنظمة الدولية للنساء البوذيات. حضر هذا المؤتمر المبجل جامبا تسدروين ، أحد طلاب جيشي توبتن نغاوانغ من مركز التبت في ألمانيا ، ثم جاء بعد ذلك إلى دير الراهبات في موندجود. أرادت أن تكون مع الراهبات ، بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، طلبت منها إدارة الشؤون الدينية والثقافية التابعة للحكومة التبتية في المنفى زيارة جانج تشوب تشولينج. عندما طلبت Jampa Tsedroen البقاء في الدير ، أخبرناها أنها كانت موضع ترحيب كبير ، لكن لم يكن لدينا غرفة مناسبة ولا سرير مناسب لها. كل ما كان علينا أن نقدمه هو سرير خشبي صلب مع ملاءة سرير واحدة ، لذلك بقيت في دير غاندين في مكان قريب. في اليوم التالي قامت برعاية أ المعلم محاولةالتي أدتها الراهبات ، وصورت الراهبات ومنشآتنا. أوضحت أنها تريد العثور على رعاة حتى نتمكن من بناء غرف ومراحيض وحمامات ومطبخ مناسبين. عندما تم بناء الغرف ، جاءت الراهبات الصغار للعيش في الدير.

ساعدنا مكتب الرعاية التبتية في منطقتنا في رعاية تكاليف المعيشة للراهبات. أعطوا أربعين روبية في الشهر لكل راهبة شابة تأتي للدراسة ، وكان على كل راهبة إحضار ثلاثين روبية إضافية من عائلتها لتغطية نفقاتها. في العام التالي ، عندما جاء جيشي توبتن نغاوانغ إلى الدير ، طلبنا المساعدة ، ووجد هو وجامبا تسدروين راعياً لكل راهبة. طلب مكتب الرفاه من جيشي خنراب ثارجي أن يعلمنا ، وطلب جامبا تسيدروين أيضًا من غيشي كونشوج تسيرينغ أن يوجه الراهبات. كلا هاتين الخطوتين الممتازتين تستمران في تعليم الراهبات. كل ما لدينا الآن يرجع إلى لطف كل هؤلاء الناس.

زودنا مكتب الرعاية الاجتماعية ، مع راهبة غربية أخرى ، بنصوص دينية ، وكتب مدرسية باللغة الإنجليزية ، وكتب تمارين. جميع الراهبات في غاية الامتنان للغربيين الذين أتاحوا لنا بناء المرافق وإنشاء برنامج تعليمي. في العام الماضي ، انتهينا من بناء المزيد من أماكن المعيشة ، والفصول الدراسية ، وقاعة الطعام ، برعاية السيدة بيكر والعديد من الأشخاص من الغرب. لم يساعد الغربيون دير الراهبات لدينا فحسب ، بل ساعدوا أيضًا العديد من المؤسسات التبتية - أديرة الراهبات والأديرة والمستشفيات والمدارس ، ونحن ممتنون لذلك. إن ما تمكنا نحن التبتيين من تحقيقه في المنفى يرجع أيضًا إلى لطف قداسته الدالاي لاما. ظهر عدد لا يحصى من البوديساتفا على الأرض ، لكنهم لم يتمكنوا من إخضاع عقولنا. حتى الآن يحاول قداسته إخضاعنا وإرشادنا إلى طريق التنوير ، لذلك نحن محظوظون جدًا.

الحياة اليومية في الدير

بالنسبة لجدولنا اليومي: نستيقظ الساعة 5:00 صباحًا ونذهب إلى المعبد لصلاة الصبح ، وبعد ذلك نكرس الإمكانات الإيجابية لسلام وسعادة جميع الكائنات الحية وطول عمر قداسته. الدالاي لاما. بعد الإفطار ، نحضر التدريس لمدة ساعة أو ساعتين. ويتبع ذلك نقاش يسمح لنا بالمناقشة والتوصل إلى فهم أوضح لـ البوذاتعاليم. في السنوات الأخيرة فقط ، بدأت الراهبات في دراسة النصوص الفلسفية ومناقشة معانيها ، وهي أنشطة شارك فيها الرهبان فقط في السابق. وقد حدث هذا التقدم في تعليم الراهبات بفضل توجيهات حضرته واهتمام الراهبات الصغيرات. يلي ذلك الغداء ، وفي فترة ما بعد الظهر لدينا دروس في اللغة التبتية والإنجليزية. في المساء ، نصلي الصلاة مرة أخرى في الهيكل الرئيسي لمدة ساعة. نحن نفعل تارا بشكل أساسي محاولة، فضلا عن الممارسات الأخرى. بعد ذلك ، نتجادل مرة أخرى ، وبعد ذلك تدرس الراهبات بمفردهن ، ويقرأن الكتب ويحفظن الكتب المقدسة. نذهب إلى الفراش حوالي منتصف الليل.

بشكل عام ، تتعاون الراهبات جيدًا مع بعضهن البعض ومع من يشغلون مناصب المسؤولية في الدير. بما أنني أكبر راهبة ، يجب أن أنظمهم وأنصحهم عند الضرورة. إنهم يتبعون مشورتي وليسوا متمردين أو عنيدون. أحيانًا أضطر إلى ضرب بعض الصغار عندما يسيئون التصرف ، لكنهم لا يمانعون كثيرًا. إنهم لا يأخذون الأمر على محمل الجد أو يقاتلون ضدي ، لأنهم يعرفون أن نواياي هي مساعدتهم على أن يكونوا راهبات صالحين. في الواقع ، عندما أخبرتهم أن عددًا قليلاً من الراهبات الأخريات سنذهب إلى "الحياة كراهبة بوذية غربية" ، بكى الكثير منهم وقالوا إنهم لا يستطيعون الاستمتاع باحتفالات رأس السنة التبتية لأن الراهبات الكبار سيكونون بعيدًا!

يوم الاثنين ، لدينا يوم عطلة ، لكنني لا أسمح للراهبات أن يكونوا عاطلين في ذلك الوقت. يجب أن يدرسوا أو يحفظوا في تلك الأيام أيضًا. حتى في رأس السنة الجديدة ليس لديهم إجازات خاصة. بين الحين والآخر يطلبون عطلة ، وهذا جيد. على الرغم من صعوبة إنشاء دير للراهبات من الصفر بموارد قليلة ، أعتقد أننا قمنا بعمل جيد. أنا سعيد جدًا لأن الراهبات الآن لديهن فرص تعليمية أفضل مما كانت عليه في الماضي ، وأن العديد منهن يستغلن ذلك. في عام 1995 ، عقدت الراهبات من مختلف الراهبات في المنفى جلسة نقاش كبيرة استمرت عدة أيام في دارامسالا. في الختام ، ولأول مرة في التاريخ ، تناقش بعض أفضل الراهبات في المعبد الرئيسي ، أمام قداسة البابا. الدالاي لاما. بالطبع ، كان البعض متوترين ، لكن بعد ذلك علق الكثير من الناس على مدى جودة أدائهم. أطلب منهم باستمرار أن يدرسوا ويتدربوا جيدًا من أجل الكائنات الحية وأن يصلوا من أجل العمر الطويل لقداسته ومعلمينا الآخرين. نحن محظوظون جدًا لأن تتاح لنا هذه الفرصة لتعلم وممارسة البوذاتعاليم!

الموقر ثوبتن لاتسو

وُلدت سرامانيريكا توبتن لاتسو في الثلاثينيات من القرن الماضي ، وتم ترسيخها كراهبة عندما كانت طفلة ومارستها في مقاطعة خام ، التبت ، قبل ذهابها إلى لاسا. رغبتها في ممارسة الدارما بحرية ، غادرت التبت التي تحتلها الصين في الثمانينيات وذهبت إلى الهند. هناك لعبت دورًا أساسيًا في إنشاء Jangchub Choeling Nunnery في جنوب الهند ، حيث أصبحت الآن واحدة من كبار الراهبات.

A nun in exile: From Tibet to India

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

From Blossoms of the Dharma: Living as a Buddhist Nun, published in 1999. This book, no longer in print, gathered together some of the presentations given at the 1996 Life as a Buddhist Nun conference in Bodhgaya, India.

Portrait of Sramanerika Thubten Lhatso.

Sramanerika Thubten Lhatso

I was born in a village in Kham, in the eastern part of Tibet, many years before the Chinese occupation of our country. The terrain was beautiful, but travel was difficult. Most people were peasants working the land, so we tended to stay close to our birthplace. No nunnery existed near my village in Kham, so I, like some other nuns, did not experience living in a nuns’ community while in Tibet. However I would like to share my experience of being a nun in Tibet and now as a refugee in India.

I became a nun when I was twelve years old. In “old Tibet” many families wanted at least one of their children to be a monastic as it was regarded very meritorious for the family. Therefore, since my family had two daughters, my parents said that one of us must become a nun. Since I was not adept at doing work around the house, in the fields, or with the animals, I was the one who ordained. Although I became a nun at a young age, I was unable to receive many teachings as no lama or monastery existed nearby. My father taught me to read and write the Tibetan language, and I stayed at my family’s house until I was twenty-one. Tibetan nuns, even those in nunneries, did not do philosophical studies or debate at that time, but mostly engaged in rituals and meditation practices to purify the mind and create positive potential. Thus, during those years, I did many Nyung Ne, the two-day fasting retreat of Chenresig, the Buddha of compassion, as well as chanted one hundred thousand Praises to Tara.

When I was twenty-one, my mother passed away. A lama living in the mountains nearby came to our home at that time to do prayers for my mother and the other villagers. He also gave teachings to the lay people and the seven nuns in the area. He instructed us to do many Nyung Ne practices, which we did, together with one hundred thousand recitations of Chenresig’s mantra. We also completed one hundred thousand recitations of the praise to Lama Tsong Khapa, together with guru yoga. Five of us nuns then went to the lama and stayed in retreat where we recited one hundred thousand refuge mantra and did many other recitations and practices. These practices helped us to purify our negative actions, deepen our confidence in the Three Jewels, and develop love and compassion. At age twenty-two, I received the sramanerika vow. I also received the Vajrayogini initiation and did that practice daily, but was unable to do the retreat due to the turbulence caused by the communist occupation of my country.

In 1958, my father, my teacher, and I left for Lhasa, thinking the situation might be better there. However, Lhasa was also occupied by the communist Chinese, and the atmosphere there was extremely tense. Fortunately, I had an audience with His Holiness the Dalai Lama there, which gave me much strength and confidence, qualities that would do me well in what was to come. By the spring of 1959, the Chinese controlled all of Lhasa, and we feared that our old way of life and our religious institutions were in jeopardy. My teacher stayed at Drepung Monastery just outside Lhasa, while we stayed in the city itself. When fighting between the Tibetans and Chinese broke out in March 1959, my father and I wanted to flee that very night. Although we were unable to leave then, my teacher escaped. The following morning my father told me that we must leave that night and instructed me to get our things that were at a friend’s home. While I was gone, the Chinese captured my father. On my way back, I saw my father standing on the road with the Chinese police. I wanted to go to him and hold him so they could not take him, but I dared not because the Chinese might have killed us both. Helplessly, I watched as they took him away to a destination unknown to me.

Finding my father was difficult because the Kham dialect I spoke was different from the dialect spoken in Lhasa, so I could not easily communicate with people. However, after two months, I succeeded in locating him in one of the prisons. Finally, when some Westerners—I think they were Americans—came to visit Tibet, the Chinese released some of the old prisoners, my father among them. At that time I was living in Lhasa and doing my religious practice. However, the communist Chinese regarded religious practice as useless and religious people as parasites on society, so they ordered me to work. Both my father and I began to work as manual laborers. Since he had to carry soil, sometimes his legs were completely swollen due to the strain. Exhausted from working all day, we were forced to attend political meetings organized by the Chinese communists each evening. During that period, I and many others suffered so much. However, we regarded this as being due to our previous karma. The Buddha said, “Happiness arises from our previous positive actions, and suffering from our negative ones,” so we tried not to be angry with those oppressing us. In any case, anger is useless in such situations: it only adds more emotional turmoil to the physical suffering that one is already experiencing. In addition, when angry, we do not think clearly and often make wrong decisions or act brashly, bringing more suffering to ourselves and others.

In 1972, my father passed away. We had been working and waiting in Lhasa, hoping that the Chinese occupation would end soon and that Tibet would regain its independence. That did not happen; but in the early 1980s restrictions relaxed a little, and the Chinese allowed some Tibetans to go to India. I wanted to go to India, but to do so, I needed a letter from a Tibetan there saying that we were relatives and asking me to come for a visit. I sent a letter to one of my teachers at Ganden Monastery in South India, and he sent me a letter of invitation, which I took to the Chinese office in Lhasa to get the papers necessary for travel to India. I told the Chinese officers that he was my relative, not my teacher, and requested to go to India for only three months to see him. When permission to go finally came through, I left all my belongings in Tibet, as if I was planning to return. Had I not done that, they would have suspected me of not intending to return and prevented me from leaving.

Thus I became a refugee. I stayed one month in Nepal and then went to Bodhgaya, India, where I received teachings on the bodhisattvas’ practices. Then I went to Drepung Monastery, reconstructed in South India by Tibetans in exile, to see my teacher. After visiting him in Drepung, I went to Dharamsala where I received teachings on the eight texts of the Lamrim, the gradual path to enlightenment. I also had the fortune to receive some initiations and teachings on the bodhisattvas’ practice in Varanasi, the Kalachakra initiation in Bodhgaya, and teachings on the Guru Puja as well as various initiations in Dharamsala. Having been unable to receive many teachings as a young nun and having had to do hard manual labor under the Chinese for many years, I was delighted to finally have the opportunity to learn more about the Dharma which I cherished so much.

Establishing Jangchub Choling Nunnery

When I first went to see my teacher in Mundgod, South India, there was not a nunnery there. Later, while Jangchub Choling Nunnery was being constructed, the Tibetan Women’s Association told me I was welcome to join the nunnery, but I declined at that time. In January 1987, a representative from the Tibetan Welfare Office invited me to attend the opening ceremony of the nunnery even though I did not intend to join it. His Holiness the Dalai Lama was going to be present, and I thought it would be good to receive his blessing, so I went to Mundgod to help with the preparations before his arrival. Since the nunnery had just been completed, it was very dusty and required a lot of cleaning and decorating to make it nice before the opening ceremony. All the nuns in the area—nearly twenty of us—were asked to be present for His Holiness’ visit, which we were only too happy to do. Some nuns were very old, coming from the old people’s home next door to the nunnery. Others were very young, in their young teens.

While His Holiness was at the nunnery, he asked if anyone was from Tibet. When I replied positively, he said, “There are many monasteries for the monks in India, but very few nunneries. I would like nunneries to be opened in all the big Tibetan settlements in India. Whenever I meet someone who could assist with this, especially those from the Tibetan Women’s Association, I ask them to help the nuns. Many Westerners ask me why there are so many monasteries for the monks and hardly any nunneries for the nuns. Now Jangchub Choling Nunnery is opening and I am very happy. Please learn the Dharma well. Since the nunnery is located near both Ganden and Drepung Monasteries, you will not face many problems finding teachers. You must study hard and become expert nuns in the future.” After His Holiness had said this, I could not just leave the nuns at Mundgod. As a senior nun, I felt responsible to enact His Holiness’ wishes and to care for the development of the young nuns. Since he had emphasized that we must study hard and make the nunnery successful, I decided to stay, join the nunnery, and do what I could to help the nuns. Only a few of the living quarters for the nuns had been completed, and more construction was desperately needed. We had no water or electricity so the sanitation was poor. Due to a shortage of housing at the nunnery, the elder nuns stayed in the old people’s home, where their rooms had no doors, windows, or proper bedding. The younger nuns whose families lived nearby slept at their family’s house. For almost eleven months, I stayed alone at the nunnery at night while the other nuns lived elsewhere.

In the spring of 1987, the first international meeting of Buddhist women was held in Bodhgaya. Although I did not attend, I learned it was highly successful and led to the establishment of Sakyadhita, the international organization for Buddhist women. Venerable Jampa Tsedroen, one of Geshe Thubten Ngawang’s students from the Tibet Center in Germany, attended this conference and afterwards came to our nunnery in Mundgod. She wanted to be with nuns, and in addition, the Department of Religious and Cultural Affairs of the Tibetan government-in-exile asked her to visit Jangchub Choling. When Jampa Tsedroen asked to stay in the nunnery, we told her that she was most welcome, but we had neither a proper room nor bedding for her. All we had to offer was a hard wooden bed with one bed sheet, so she stayed at Ganden Monastery nearby. The next day she sponsored a Guru Puja, which the nuns performed, and she photographed the nuns and our facilities. She explained that she wanted to find sponsors so that we could build proper rooms, toilets, bathrooms, and kitchen. When the rooms were built, the young nuns came to live at the nunnery.

The Tibetan Welfare Office in our area helped us sponsor the nuns’ living costs. They gave forty rupees a month for each young nun who came to study, and each nun had to bring thirty additional rupees from her family in order to cover her expenses. The following year, when Geshe Thubten Ngawang came to the nunnery, we asked for help, and he and Jampa Tsedroen found a sponsor for each nun. The Welfare Office asked Geshe Khenrab Thargye to teach us, and Jampa Tsedroen also requested Geshe Konchog Tsering to instruct the nuns. Both of these excellent geshes continue to teach the nuns. Whatever we have now is due to the kindness of all these people.

The Welfare Office, together with another Western nun, provided us with religious texts, English textbooks, and exercise books. All the nuns are most grateful to the Westerners who made it possible for us to build facilities and establish an educational program. Last year, we finished the construction of more living quarters, classrooms, and a dining hall, sponsored by Ms. Baker and many people from the West. Westerners have helped not only our nunnery, but many Tibetan institutions—nunneries, monasteries, hospitals, and schools, and we are grateful for this. What we Tibetans have been able to accomplish in exile is also due to the kindness of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Countless bodhisattvas have appeared on earth, but they have not been able to subdue our minds. Even now His Holiness is trying to subdue us and show us the way to enlightenment, so we are very lucky.

Daily life in the nunnery

As for our daily schedule: we get up at 5:00 A.M. and go to the temple for our morning prayers, after which we dedicate the positive potential for the peace and happiness of all sentient beings and the long life of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. After breakfast, we attend teachings for one or two hours. This is followed by debate, which allows us to discuss and reach a clearer understanding of the Buddha’s teachings. Only in recent years have nuns begun to study the philosophical texts and debate their meanings, activities in which previously only monks engaged. This advancement in nuns’ education has occurred due to His Holiness’ instructions and the interest of the young nuns. Lunch follows, and in the afternoon we have Tibetan and English classes. In the evenings, we again do prayers in the main temple for an hour. We principally do Tara Puja, as well as other practices. After that, we again have debate, after which the nuns study on their own, reading books and memorizing the scriptures. We go to bed around midnight.

In general, the nuns cooperate well with each other and with those in positions of responsibility in the nunnery. Since I am the most senior nun, I have to discipline and advise them when necessary. They follow my counsel and are not rebellious or headstrong. Sometimes I have had to hit some of the younger ones when they misbehaved, but they don’t mind it too much. They do not take it seriously or fight against me, as they know that my intentions are to help them be good nuns. In fact, when I told them that a few other nuns and I were going to ‘Life as a Western Buddhist Nun’, many of them cried and said they couldn’t enjoy the Tibetan New Year’s celebrations because the senior nuns would be away!

On Mondays, we have a day off, but I do not allow the nuns to be idle then. They must study or memorize on those days too. Even at New Year’s they don’t have special holidays. Every now and again they do ask for a holiday, and this is fine. Although it is difficult to establish a nunnery from scratch with few resources, I think we have done quite well. I am very happy that the nuns now have better educational opportunities than in the past, and that many of them are taking advantage of this. In 1995, nuns from the various nunneries in exile had a large debate session, lasting many days in Dharamsala. At the conclusion, for the first time in history, some of the best nuns debated at the main temple, in front of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Of course, some were nervous, but afterwards many people commented how well they did. I continuously request them to study and practice well for the sake of sentient beings and to pray for the long life of His Holiness and our other teachers. We are so fortunate to have this opportunity to learn and practice the Buddha’s teachings!

Find more on these topics: , , ,