Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The four seals of Buddhism: The first seal

Part of a series of talks given during a two day retreat at the Amitabha Buddhist Centre in Singapore based on The Foundation of Buddhist Practice, the second volume in The Library of Wisdom and Compassion series.

  • Presenting the Dharma topics in a unique order
  • The first seal: all conditioned phenomena are transient
  • Coarse and subtle impermanence
  • Understanding impermanence is a powerful antidote to harmful emotions
  • Questions
    • Are love and compassion permanent?
    • How can we comfort those who are grieving?
    • How can I develop love and compassion for mosquitoes?
    • Is it possible to cherish others without a selfish concern?

The four seals of Buddhism: The first seal (download)

Venerable Thubten Chodron

Venerable Chodron emphasizes the practical application of Buddha’s teachings in our daily lives and is especially skilled at explaining them in ways easily understood and practiced by Westerners. She is well known for her warm, humorous, and lucid teachings. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in 1977 by Kyabje Ling Rinpoche in Dharamsala, India, and in 1986 she received bhikshuni (full) ordination in Taiwan. Read her full bio.

More on this topic