طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

مؤتمر العقل والحياة الثالث: العواطف والصحة

حضره سمو الدالاي لاما ، دارامسالا ، الهند

امرأة تبدو حزينة جدا ويأس.
هل تنشأ مشاعر جديدة مع تطور لغتنا وأدبنا أم أننا فقط نحدد المشاعر التي كانت موجودة طوال الوقت؟ (الصورة من تصوير ستيلا ماريس)

موضوع العقل والحياة III الحوار هو دور الحالات العاطفية في الصحة الجسدية. على مدار 2,500 عام الماضية ، استكشف البوذيون هذا الموضوع من خلال الممارسات التأملية والتحليل المنطقي.

ملاحظة: بدأ هذا التقرير كرسالة إلى الأصدقاء. لا أحاول تقديم تقرير شامل عن المؤتمر وإحالة الناس إلى عدد من الكتب الممتازة التي نشرتها منشورات أسد الثلج و منشورات الحكمة التي خرجت من مؤتمرات العقل / الحياة. للأسف لم يكن لدي البرنامج معي وأعتذر عن حذف أسماء العلماء المشاركين ...

كنت أعيش في دارامسالا ، الهند ، في خريف عام 1990 ، عندما وصلت مجموعة من العلماء (معظمهم من الأمريكيين ، مع تشيلي واحد يعيش في فرنسا) لحضور مؤتمر العقل / الحياة مع قداسته الدالاي لاما (HHDL) ، والتي استمرت خمسة أيام ، مع جلسات في الصباح وبعد الظهر. كان من دواعي سروري أن أكون متفرجًا على العروض التقديمية للعلماء في HHDL ومناقشاتهم اللاحقة. كان انفتاح HHDL وفضوله حول الأشياء الجديدة مثالًا رائعًا لنا جميعًا. سأل العلماء العديد من الأسئلة المناسبة التي أظهرت فهمه لعملية البحث العلمي ، حيث قال أحد العلماء ، "يمكنك أن تأتي للعمل في مختبري في أي وقت!"

التعاطف الأخلاقي

بدأ فيلسوف المؤتمر بعرض لأنظمة أخلاقية مختلفة كما هو موجود في الغرب وشكوك الناس حول التعاطف كأساس للأخلاق. لقد أزعجني هذا بالطبع ، لأن الرحمة تحظى بإعجاب شديد في البوذية. لكنه أشار إلى أن التعاطف في الغرب يعني في كثير من الأحيان أن الشخص الأعلى هو الذي يساعد بتنازل شخصًا أدنى. كما أن العديد من الأديان التي تتحدث عن الرحمة تستخدم دينها أيضًا لتبرير التمييز على أساس الجنس والعنصرية. لهذا السبب أيضًا ، كثير من الناس الشك فعالية الرحمة. تلا ذلك مناقشة حية. ولكن بعد أربعة أيام ، في نهاية المؤتمر ، عندما تحدثت HHDL عن ضرورة التعاطف والمودة للحصول على الرضا والسعادة داخل الأفراد وداخل المجتمع ، تأثر الناس لدرجة أن الجميع تقريبًا كانت الدموع في عيونهم.

التعرف على المشاعر

قدم أحد العلماء بحثًا حول الحالات العاطفية ونشاط الدماغ مما أدى إلى مناقشة حول ما هو المقصود بالعاطفة. هذا مثير للاهتمام بشكل خاص لأنه لا توجد كلمة في التبت لفئة واسعة من "العاطفة" كما نعنيها في الغرب. هل العواطف يجب صقلها أم التخلي عنها؟ هل لدى بوذا مشاعر؟ لقد خلصنا إلى أن بعض المشاعر مفيدة بينما البعض الآخر مدمر ، وأنه نظرًا لأن بوذا لديهم الحب والرحمة ، فإن لديهم أيضًا مشاعر.

لقد استمتعت بالمناقشات أكثر من أي شيء آخر ، حيث ظهرت العديد من النقاط التي لم يتم تناولها عادة في التعاليم البوذية أو في المحادثات العلمية. على سبيل المثال ، سأل أحد الأشخاص ، "هل تنشأ مشاعر جديدة مع تطور لغتنا وأدبنا أم أننا فقط نحدد المشاعر التي كانت موجودة طوال الوقت؟ عندما تحتوي لغة ما على كلمة لحالة عقلية معينة ، فهل تشجع الأشخاص الذين يتحدثون تلك اللغة على تجربة تلك الحالة؟ " ما خطر ببالي هو الشعور بالذنب: في التبت لا توجد كلمة تشير إلى الذنب ، ولا يبدو أنهم يعانون من نفس مشاكل الشعور بالذنب التي نواجهها في الغرب.

التغلب على تدني احترام الذات

شارون سالزبورغ من إنسايت التأمُّل المجتمع ، مجموعة Theravada في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، طرحت شيئًا لاحظته أنا أيضًا أثناء تعليم الغربيين: نحن نواجه صعوبة في حب أنفسنا والتسامح معها. نميل إلى تدني احترام الذات ودرجات متفاوتة من كراهية الذات ، إلى جانب الشعور بأننا غير محبوبين. وبالتالي ، غالبًا ما يسيء الغربيون تفسير التعاليم البوذية المتعلقة بالاعتزاز بالآخرين بحيث تشمل ، "أنا سيء جدًا. أنا لا أستحق أن أكون سعيدًا لأنني أناني وغاضب للغاية ، لذلك يجب أن أضحي بنفسي من أجل الآخرين للتعويض عن ذلك ".

فوجئت HHDL بسماع هذا ، وعندما سأل الغرفة المليئة بالعلماء والمتفرجين ، الذين نجحوا جميعًا في مجالاتهم الخاصة ، "من لديه هذا التقدير المنخفض للذات؟" قلنا جميعًا بلا خجل ، "كلنا يفعل". قال HHDL مصدومًا ، "في السابق اعتقدت أنني فهمت العقل جيدًا ، لكن الآن لدي شكوك." لقد سألنا عن سبب هذا الشعور ، وظهرت أسباب مختلفة: من افتقار الأطفال إلى الحب الأبوي والاتصال الجسدي مع والديهم إلى المنافسة في المجتمع إلى الفكرة المسيحية عن الخطيئة الأصلية. اقترح HHDL بعض التأملات للمساعدة في التغلب على تدني احترام الذات: التأمل في حقيقة أننا جميعًا نمتلك البوذا الطبيعة والقدرة على تطوير أنفسنا ؛ التفكير في حقيقة أننا تلقينا مساعدة الآخرين وحبهم ولطفهم ، وبالتالي تنمية المودة للآخرين. واختتم بالقول ، "نعم ، من المناسب في الممارسة البوذية أن يزرع المرء الحب لنفسه دون أنانية."

السلام من خلال التفاهم

في اليوم التالي ، فوجئ العلماء بنفس القدر بشيء قاله HHDL. تحدث أحد العلماء عن عمله مع ضحايا التعذيب والملاجئ. علق HHDL أن قلة قليلة من التبتيين الذين تعرضوا للتعذيب على يد الشيوعيين الصينيين يعانون من ضغوط ما بعد الصدمة - كوابيس ، ذكريات الماضي المؤلمة ، الارتباك. اندهش العلماء. كيف يكون ذلك؟ اقترح HHDL بعض الأسباب: ربما لأن التبتيين كان لديهم ملاذ قوي في الجواهر الثلاث وفهم قانون الكارما؛ ربما لأنهم علموا أنهم لم يكونوا مسجونين لأنهم ارتكبوا أي خطأ. لقد تحملوا هذا من أجل الحرية.

قدم العديد من العلماء أبحاثًا عن تأثيرات التوتر مقابل العقل الهادئ على الصحة والقدرة على التعافي من المرض. أشارت جميع الأدلة إلى حقيقة أنه كلما زاد شعور الناس بالسلام في الداخل واتصالهم بالآخرين ، كانت صحتهم أفضل. علق HHDL: "إنك تعطيني المزيد من الذخيرة (لتظهر للآخرين أن الانفصال والصبر واللطف والرحمة مفيدة للذات وللآخرين)".

تقليل التوتر من خلال اليقظة

في اليوم الأخير ، تحدث العالم جون كابات زين ، عن عمله في المركز الطبي بجامعة ماساتشوستس: لقد كان يدير عيادة للحد من التوتر. كان عملاؤه أشخاصًا يعالجون من أمراض أخرى (السرطان ، مشاكل القلب ، إلخ) وأحالهم أطباء آخرون إلى عيادته لمساعدتهم على التعافي. وصف تعليم الناس اليقظة التأمُّل كما تدرس بشكل عام في تقليد ثيرافادا. لقد فعل ذلك بدون توجه ديني. لقد بدأوا بكونهم واعين للتنفس وبعد ذلك كانوا مدركين للمشاعر في أجسادهم ، إلخ. كما قاموا بتمارين هاثا يوجا. كانت النتائج رائعة ومرة ​​أخرى أعطت HHDL"المزيد من الذخيرة". اعتقدت أن هذا النوع من العمل يجب أن يجعل HHDL سعيدة للغاية لأنها وصلت إلى العديد من الناس واستفادت منهم دون أي عقيدة دينية. خلال المؤتمر ، شددت HHDL على أن المهم هو 5 مليارات شخص في العالم ، 4 مليارات منهم ليس لديهم أي أساس ديني راسخ. علينا أن نظهر لهم قيمة السلوك الأخلاقي والرحمة - وهما شيئان أساسيان لبقاء كوكبنا - دون جلب المعتقدات الدينية.

أعطانا المؤتمر الكثير لنفكر فيه. أنا شخصياً أزدهر في المناقشات مع الأشخاص الذين لديهم معتقدات ووجهات نظر مختلفة عن الحياة. إنهم يعلمونني أشياء جديدة كثيرة ويعمقون حتما اقتناعي بـ البوذاتعاليم. كما أنه يجعلني أدرك أن الناس لديهم العديد من الميول والاهتمامات المختلفة ، وأنه سيكون من الجيد تعلم كيفية التواصل مع الجميع بشكل فعال.

المُبَجَّلة تُبْتِنْ تْشُدْرِنْ

تؤكّد المُبجّلة تشُدرِن Chodron على التطبيق العملي لتعاليم بوذا في حياتنا اليومية وهي ماهرة بشكل خاص في شرح تلك التعاليم بطرق يسهُل على الغربيين فهمها وممارستها. وهي مشهورة بدفء وفُكاهة ووضوح تعاليمها. رُسِّمت كراهبة بوذية في عام 1977 على يد كيابجي لِنغ رينبوتشي في دارامسالا بالهند ، وفي عام 1986 تلقت رسامة البيكشوني (الرّسلمة الكاملة) في تايوان. اقرأ سيرتها الذاتية كاملة.

The Mind and Life III Conference: Emotions and health

Attended by H.H. the Dalai Lama, in Dharamsala, India

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The topic of the Mind and Life III dialogue is the role of emotional states in physical health. Over the past 2,500 years, Buddhists have explored this topic through contemplative practices and logical analysis.

Note: This report began as a letter to friends. I do not attempt to give a comprehensive report on the conference and refer people to a number of excellent books published by Snow Lion Publications and Wisdom Publications that have come out of the Mind/Life Conferences. Unfortunately, I did not have the program with me and apologize for omitting the names of the participating scientists…

I was living in Dharamsala, India, in the autumn of 1990, when a group of scientists arrived (mostly American, with one Chilean who lived in France) for the Mind/Life Conference with His Holiness the Dalai Lama (HHDL), which lasted five days, with sessions both morning and afternoon. I was delighted to be able to be a spectator to the scientists’ presentations to HHDL and their subsequent discussions. HHDL’s open-mindedness and curiosity about new things was an impressive example for us all. He asked the scientists so many appropriate questions that demonstrated his understanding of the process of scientific research that one scientist said, “You can come work in my laboratory any time!”

Ethical compassion

A philosopher started the conference with a presentation of different ethical systems as found in the West and the doubts people have about compassion as the basis for ethics. Of course, this jarred me, for compassion is so admired in Buddhism. But he pointed out that in the West compassion often means a higher person condescendingly helping a lower one. Also, many religions which talk about compassion also use their religion to justify sexism and racism. For this reason too, many people doubt the effectiveness of compassion. A lively discussion ensued. But four days later, at the end of the conference, when HHDL talked on the necessity of compassion and affection to have satisfaction and happiness both within individuals and within society, people were so moved that nearly everyone had tears in their eyes.

Identifying emotion

A woman looking very sad and despair.

Do new emotions come into being as our language and literature evolve or are we just identifying emotions that have been there all along? (Photo by Stella Maris)

One scientist presented research about emotional states and brain activity which prompted a discussion about just what was meant by emotion. This is especially interesting because there is no word in Tibetan for the broad category of “emotion” as we mean it in the West. Are emotions to be cultivated or abandoned? Do Buddhas have emotions? We concluded that some emotions are beneficial while others are destructive, and that since Buddhas have love and compassion, they also have emotions.

I enjoyed the discussions most of all, for many points came up that aren’t usually covered in Buddhist teachings or in the scientific talks. For example, one person asked, “Do new emotions come into being as our language and literature evolve or are we just identifying emotions that have been there all along? When a language has a word for a particular mental state, does it encourage the people who speak that language to experience that state?” What came to my mind was guilt: in Tibetan there’s no word for guilt, nor do they seem to have the same problems with guilt that we have in the West.

Overcoming low self-esteem

Sharon Salzburg from Insight Meditation Society, a Theravada group in the USA, brought up something that I too have noticed while teaching Westerners: we have a hard time loving and forgiving ourselves. We tend to have low self-esteem and varying degrees of self-hatred, together with a feeling that we’re unlovable. Thus, Westerners often misinterpret Buddhist teachings on cherishing others to include, “I’m so bad. I don’t deserve to be happy because I’m so selfish and angry, so I have to sacrifice myself for others to make up for this.”

HHDL was very surprised to hear this, and when he asked the roomful of scientists and spectators, all of whom were successful in their own fields, “Who has this low self-esteem?” we all unabashedly said, “All of us do.” Shocked, HHDL said, “Previously I thought I understood the mind pretty well, but now I have my doubts.” He questioned us on why we have this feeling, and various reasons came up: from babies’ lack of parental love and physical contact with their parents to competition in society to the Christian idea of original sin. HHDL proposed a few meditations to help overcome low self-esteem: meditating on the fact that all of us have the Buddha nature and the potential to develop ourselves; contemplating the fact that we’ve been the recipient of others’ help, love and kindness, and thus cultivating affection for others. He concluded by saying, “Yes, it’s appropriate in Buddhist practice to cultivate love for oneself without selfishness.”

Peace through understanding

The following day, the scientists were equally surprised at something HHDL said. One scientist told of his work with torture victims and refuges. HHDL commented that very few Tibetans who were tortured by the Chinese communists have Post-traumatic Stress—nightmares, painful flashbacks, disorientation. The scientists were amazed. How could this be? HHDL suggested some reasons: Perhaps because the Tibetans had firm refuge in the Three Jewels and understood the law of karma; perhaps because they knew they weren’t being imprisoned because they had done anything wrong. It was for freedom that they endured this.

Several scientists presented research of the effects of stress vs. a calm mind on health and the ability to recover from illness. All evidence pointed to the fact that the more people felt peaceful inside and connected to others, the better their health. “You’re giving me more ammunition (to show others that detachment, patience, kindness and compassion are beneficial for self and others),” commented HHDL.

Reducing stress through mindfulness

The last day, Jon Kabat-Zinn, a scientist talked of his work at the University of Massachusetts’ Medical Center: he ran a stress reduction clinic. His clients were people who were being treated for other illness (cancer, heart problems, etc.) and referred to his clinic by other doctors to help them recover. He described teaching people mindfulness meditation as generally taught in the Theravada tradition. He did this with no religious orientation. They started with being mindful of the breath and later were mindful of feelings in their bodies, etc. They also did hatha yoga. The results were impressive and again gave HHDL“more ammunition.” I thought that this kind of work must make HHDL very happy for it reached out to many people and benefited them without any religious doctrine. Throughout the conference HHDL stressed that what was important was the 5 billion people in the world, 4 billion of whom don’t have any firm religious grounding. We have to show them the value of ethical conduct and compassion— two things essential for the survival of our planet—without bringing in religious beliefs.

The conference gave all of us a lot to think about. Personally, I thrive on discussions with people who have different beliefs and perspectives on life than I do. They teach me many new things and inevitably deepen my conviction in the Buddha’s teachings. Also, it makes me aware that people have so many different inclinations and interests, and that it’d be good to learn how to communicate with everyone effectively.

Find more on these topics: , , , , , , ,